2018 Assistant Superintendent of the Year Nominations

The North Texas GCSA is seeking applications for the

2018 Assistant Superintendent of the Year.

Superintendents please don’t pass up this opportunity to get your Assistant the recognition they deserve.

Beginning in 2017, the NTGCSA Board of Directors has awarded a top Assistant for their hard work and dedication to the industry.

If you are a Superintendent and have an Assistant that you
feel is deserving of this award, please pass on a copy
of the application listed below.
Each applicant is also asked to submit a Letter of Recommendation

from their Superintendent. The submissions will be put before a committee and a winner chosen.

The recipient of the award will be invited to the Annual Banquet in January 2019 to accept a plaque and $250.00 gift card.

If you have any questions or need further information please

contact Carol Cloud at (817) 368-3002 or ntgcsa@gmail.com.

2018 Superintendent of the Year Nominations

NorthTexas GCSA Members,

We are approaching a very special time of the year when the association honors the many deserving members who have demonstrated an above and beyond effort and commitment to their golf facility, their association and their profession. Since 1972, the North Texas GCSA has honored a Superintendent each year with first the Superintendent of the Year Award, and beginning in 1987 the A.C. Bearden Superintendent of the Year Award and eventually as it has been known since 2014, the A.C. and Garry Bearden Superintendent of the Year Award. Each year, the winner is honored at the Annual Awards Banquet held in January.

At this time, we are seeking deserving nominations for the 2018 award. Nominations will be reviewed by the SOY Committee and the winner will be selected by a vote of the Class A and SM (B) Membership in December. Nominations can be made by any Class A or SM (B) member or by golf course officials. Nominations should be made in writing and must be submitted to the North Texas GCSA office no later than 5:00 pm, September 1, 2018.

As noted, North Texas GCSA Class A and SM (B) members are encouraged to nominate their deserving peers for this award. These types of nominations are very meaningful ways for members to honor their professional colleagues. All nominees will be specially recognized by the association through a congratulatory letter, and recognition in the North Texas GCSA Newsletter and Website.

Also an annual North Texas GCSA tradition is to ask course officials for nominations. We strongly encourage all members to share this message to the appropriate personnel at their course for their consideration. Superintendents by nature are modest in nature but we hope all members will share the information. Nominations will be accepted from General Managers, Golf Professionals, Club Officials, Golfers, Club Members or any other individual related to a golf facility who would like to make a nomination. Letters will also be sent to your General Manager, Club Official and Golf Professional.

The deadline for nominations is 5:00 pm on September 1, 2018. Nominations may be emailed to ntgcsa@gmail.com or mailed to the NTGCSA office at 5552 Plata Lane, Benbrook, Texas 76126. If you have questions regarding the process, contact a North Texas GCSA board member or the Chapter Executive at ntgcsa@gmail.com.

Brian Honea Wins The 2018 A.C. January Superintendent Championship


Chapter Championship

Superintendent and Affiliate Championship

June 14th, 2018

Trophy Club Country Club

Congratulations to Brian Honea, our 2018 Superintendent Chapter Champion.  It was a hot and windy day but Brian was able to persevere through the weather and post a 73 to capture the Trophy.  Congratulations also to our Drue Thompson who carded an even par 72 to win the affiliate championship.  Thank you to our Title Sponsor Longhorn inc. for a great day, and a special thank you to our host Scott Fuller of TCCC for having the course in such great shape!

Check out the Pictures


Title Sponsor

Thank You Longhorn Inc.